Metaphorgetmenots

I have never danced with the devil
though we have often requested the
same songs from the DJ

neither have I walked through fire
though I have lit some pilot lights,
snuffed out a few others

skeletons have resided in my closet
though only on sublet, unceremoniously
evicted for non-payment of rent

there have been bridges burned
grudges held – sans the sappy ardor –
as I’ve always kept it strictly platonic

I have always made it out of the ball
before the clock reached twelve –
Dr. Scholl’s inserts littering the steps

never have I laughed in the
face of death, though I have chortled
with gusto at a near miss or two

regrets have occasionally been nurtured
yet I have always resisted tempting fate,
or tipping the maître d’ at life’s buffet

Therein lies the rub; for my sins are
mostly those of omission, even those
perpetrated in love.

2 thoughts on “Metaphorgetmenots

  1. glitteringsootonhereyelashes May 1, 2010 / 1:53 pm

    “I have never danced with the devil
    though we have often requested the
    same songs from the DJ”

    i love the first stanza. sardonic language intiriquing to the core. amazing 🙂

    Like

  2. slpmartin May 1, 2010 / 9:13 pm

    Very clever poem…love the play on words in it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

