Valentine Poem #5 (The Definitive Valentine Poem: for Amy)

Young and beautiful
Someday your looks will be gone
When the others turn you off
Who’ll be turnin’ you on
I will, I will, I will,
– The Captain and Tennile, Love Will Keep Us Together

We have been together twenty years
nineteen of those as husband, wife

skeptics be damned; we knew early
it would work – at least I hoped so

First sight? Yes, and most all since

Wedding sermonizing, stray advice
from grizzled old timers cautioned us;
fading rose blooms, finding common
interests as togetherness progressed

counsel heeded, time has brought us
deeper understanding, true partnership

First sight? I remember my initial
glance, the eyebrow-raising view I
got upon arrival at the restaurant we
had decided upon during pre-meeting
phone conversations; I always picture
her sitting on that end of bar stool,
turning toward the door as I entered
the neighborhood café, seeing those
blue eyes, wry smile, cunning figure

Not a difficult task: time hasn’t blurred
the picture nor does it need retouching:
a funny thing happened along the life
road called til-death –do-us –part.

I now know every inch of her intimately
marveling frequently at her Dorian Gray
routine, thankful every day for the gift

her eyes are still the most unique shade
of azure, the little lines around the edges
still crackle with a thousand stories when
she smiles; a smile that still entices
like it did that first night from a barstool

Twenty years -partners, lovers, friends to
whom a funny thing happened on the
way to happily-ever-after; not what they
told me – nothing at all like the song said

“Young and beautiful
Someday your looks will be gone
When the others turn you off
Who’ll be turnin’ you on…

She does, she does. she does…
oh, my! She still really does.

One thought on “Valentine Poem #5 (The Definitive Valentine Poem: for Amy)

  1. slpmartin February 15, 2011 / 11:37 am

    Just excellent…I really enjoyed this poem’s expressed sentiment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

