“I think I can, I think I can…but I prefer my beer from a bottle, thanks.” Episode II

Seventh grader Sam is running for student council vice president, and today he has to make a two-minute speech to the student body prior to voting. In mulling over speech possibilities the other night, I asked Sam if his whole class was done reading Julius Caesar. His reply? “No, dad – the class isn’t reading it; I’m just reading it for fun. And no, I am not going to do Mark Anthony’s ‘friends, Romans, countrymen’ speech. I don’t think anyone would get it.”

In brainstorming other options, we arrived at the following, more Lincolnesque opening:

“Four weeks and several hours ago, we began a new school year – a year filled with challenges: pop quizzes, detention, lunchroom food…”

Hynes students: vote early, vote often.

Hey, it’s New Orleans.

One night working at the store, a guy about my age comes in and he is wearing a t-shirt that says: “What part of Muwahahahahahah don’t you understand?”

I found the shirt amusing, posted the saying on Facebook, come to find that there are different spellings of the ubiquitous catch-phrase. So I ask, is it ‘Buhwahahahahahah’ or ‘Muwhahahahaha’?

Inquiring minds want to know.

I consider myself to me more in the ‘Muwhahahahaha’ camp, though can surely see the p.o.v. of the ‘Buhwahahahahahah’ faction.

While you can foster lengthy and reasonable debate over ‘Buhwahahahahahah or Muwhahahahaha’ there can be no denying the plausibility and favorability of ‘manamana.’

You know, manamana.

Manamana! Dee-dee-dee-dee-dee. Oh, let’s just go to the source. WARNING! Ear-worm alert should you click the link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wM89T74MPnE&feature=related                  

Now that that’s settled…

In a small business and retail area of our New Orleans neighborhood, there is a very small (fills maybe an eighth of the block, square footage per floor on par with some of the bigger houses in the area), five-story office building housing some CPA’s, an attorney’s office, a notary, and a couple of other professional types. Its primary occupant appears to be a prominent property management company. A ride in the building’s elevator is always good for a smile by just looking at the buttons:

1, 2, 3, 4…Penthouse!

I’ll bet the view of the parking lot is spectacular.

As an added building amenity, there is a frozen yogurt shop on the street level. Quick and easy to get to…if you take the express elevator.

A final note:

I work four weekend shifts at the grocery store, and I know that at least a dozen times over the next few days, a customer will give me a $100 bill, and as I use my handy-dandy ‘counterfeit marking pen’ on it, then hold it up to the light to check its veracity, the customer will say, “Oh, it’s good – I just printed it this morning.”

I also know at least three of them will briefly have panic in their eyes when I casually respond, while still holding the bill up to the light “I can sure tell – the ink is smudging.”

Oh, c’mon. It’s just a brief moment of panic.

Happy Labor Day weekend.

One thought on ““I think I can, I think I can…but I prefer my beer from a bottle, thanks.” Episode II

  1. slpmartin September 2, 2011 / 2:38 pm

    I would just love to see their face when you deliver the line about the ink smudging…what a fun and clever response.

    Like

Leave a Reply

