Driving Chistmas beat

natkingcolechristmasalbum soundtrackDecember means swapping out the CDs in my car’s changer; Nat King Cole and Vince Guaraldi move in and represent the month of as only the two greatest Christmas albums ever recorded can.

Unlike their vinyl and cassette tape predecessors, these electronic incarnations are durable, and stand up much better to continual and repetitive playings for the month between Thanksgiving and Christmas year-after-year and have yet to be worn out.

I know just by my daily commute that I am not alone in my fondness for these two classics.

Drive down any highway this time of year and see the unmistakable signs of this specific holiday music being played in vehicles: enhanced and widespread in-car karaoke. You can tell when a fellow commuter is crooning along with Nat on The Christmas Song, be-bopping with Brenda Lee around the proverbial tree or rocking their jingle bells with Bobby Helms.

You do not need to be a lip-reading savant to note any of those songs on any given urban commute.

But it is the most ubiquitous of all Christmas albums and instrumental songs that I enjoy seeing in others as I partake in myself…and I see it every day.

A Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack being played in a vehicle: head shrugging to the beat of track four – Linus and Lucy. Or, as you might more accurately recognize it, the dancing scene music.

You know….
Charlie-Brown-Christmas-Peanuts-danceIt is joyous, infectious, unstoppable. Try to resist – I dare you. Your efforts are futile, as you are only human.

Forget about Santa Claus watching your every move this time of year. Just driving down the highway we see your every musical bob and twitch. There is nothing like a little holiday inhibition cutting loose. For one month out of the CBCdance3year, we are all Peanuts characters, seat-dancing down the highways.

Track four triggers something holiday-primal: involuntary and immediate tapping and sashaying of a drivers left, non-driving foot. Observe:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSbX3oudyBc&feature=youtu.be

In the opening scene of a Charlie Brown Christmas, Charlie Brown bemoans his lack of holiday cheer

Charlie: (to Linus) I think there must be something wrong with
me. I just don’t understand Christmas, I guess. I might be
getting presents and sending Christmas cards and decorating trees
and all that, but I’m still not happy. I don’t feel the way I’m
supposed to feel.

Linus: Charlie Brown, you are the only person I know who can take
a wonderful season like Christmas and turn it into a problem.
Maybe Lucy is right. Of all of the Charlie Browns in the world,
you are the Charlie Brownest.

If only Linus could drive Charlie up and down the highways of America every December, he could show ol’ Mr. Brown just what the two of them have wrought.

So go ahead and toe-tap, shrug, bob, rock and jingle your way down the road this Christmas season. You, in every positive respect, are indeed the Charlie Brownest.
Charlie Brown and tree

 

Leave a Reply

